Uncategorized

Absence

Absence doesn’t make the heart grow fonder. Absence makes you angry. Absence makes you wonder why you aren’t good enough for a simple hello. Absence makes you forget.

There is a point that you reach when you just give up. You no longer expend the energy it takes to maintain the feelings you had. You let go. And you have to let go in order to hang on to your sanity.

It’s time to let go. That place in my heart will always belong to that person, but it’s time to let the scab grow. I need to let the scar form. I need to move on.

For years, I was content with just being a friend. I could accept that things would never go beyond that. But I don’t feel that I’ve been treated like a friend.

I don’t know what’s going on, because I haven’t had contact in months. I don’t know if they’re dead or alive. How could I know?

So, they’re alive in my heart, but my head tells me to let go. I think it’s finally time to listen to my head instead of my heart. Absence will eventually let me forget. Maybe. I doubt it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

