Uncategorized

He is my home

I don’t know exactly when I fell in love with my husband. I met him at the Denny’s I worked at. He always sat at the counter. I talked to him whenever I could. (Keep in mind that I am an introvert, and it’s not easy for me to talk to people) I think I fell for him sometime around when he came in one afternoon, and I spent my entire break standing there talking to him.

My breaks were sacred to me. I needed the time off my feet, and the break from people. But that day, I clocked out, and I talked to him.

Somehow, I asked him out. It was an insane moment of impulse. I didn’t think about it, I just asked him what he was doing the following night (I knew he was off too) When he said, “Nothing” I asked him if he wanted to so see a movie with me. He hesitated for a second, and I started to freak out. I thought he would say no, and I was already feeling embarrassed. I was shocked when he said yes.

We didn’t actually make it out that day,  my stupid roommate erased all of David’s messages while I was out. When I gave David my number, I didn’t think to get his. And I didn’t know his last name to look him up.

Our first date was technically a disaster, but he stuck around. After we finally watched the movie, and ate the pizza, I didn’t know how to end the date. I hadn’t really done much dating before him. So I kissed him, thinking he’d say goodnight, and go. But we ended up in my bedroom instead.

Yes, we had sex on our first date, several times actually. He was used to working midnight shift, so he kept waking me up. It was a weird night, but I think deep down, I already knew that I loved him. So it just seemed natural.

He didn’t flirt with me, but he just drew me to him. He fit me. He fit my sense of humor, he fit my background and he fit me sexually. He always felt like “home”. He was my safe place. He basically saved my life when he paid for me to go to a clinic when I had strep throat. We had only been dating for a month when that happened.

We didn’t have a typical courtship. I had asked him out, after all. He asked me to marry him over the phone. I didn’t get a ring until a few months later. And even then, he got me a ruby instead of a diamond. He knew I didn’t like diamonds.

I have made mistakes in our marriage. I didn’t physically cheat, but I did the next worse thing. But David didn’t give up on us. He didn’t give up on me. He had the strength to let me work through my feelings.

I am so blessed to have him in my life. I don’t feel worthy of him, but I am so damned glad he doesn’t feel that way. We’ve been together for 23 years. It hasn’t always been easy. There were times when I wanted to bolt, but I could never leave him. 23 years together, and the longest we’ve been apart is 10 days.

We have survived so much. We made it through me almost dying. We made it through my mother in law being diagnosed with Parkinson’s and moving in with her. We survived my coming to terms with me being bisexual. And we made it through me falling in love with someone else (that has ended since)

We aren’t perfect, but we are perfect for each other. He is my home. He is my heart. I have a weird quirk where I can love more than one person, but he is my soul mate. He isn’t perfect. He doesn’t always understand me, but he tries. He does things that frustrate me, but he doesn’t do them intentionally.

I have no idea how I managed to find someone so perfect for me, but he’s been mine for 23 years. I love him. I do know how rare it is to find a soul mate, and I have no intention of ever letting him go. He’s an amazing person, and he’s mine. And that makes me happy. ☺

 

Standard

One thought on “He is my home

Leave a Reply

