Uncategorized

Not giving in

When I woke up this morning, I got on Twitter like I usually do. I saw the reports of the terrorists attacks in Belgium. I was so depressed. My soul literally hurt. I don’t understand the kind of hatred that causes people to do those things.

I am glad that I don’t know hatred like that. I am a live, and let live person. I don’t understand why people do the things they do. Most religions preach peace, but people have been twisting religion to fit their own agendas forever. Even Jesus got angry at the business practices in the temple. When people say “What Would Jesus Do?” remind them that he went on a rampage. He knocked over tables, and took a whip to people.

It’s kind of sobering to realize that because I am white, Christian, American and bisexual, that people would be willing to kill me for any of those reasons. I do my best not to hurt other people. I try to respect everyone. But that doesn’t matter. They see me as a target.

Terrorists want us to be afraid. They want us to cower.They want us to fall before them.I’m not going to do that. I am going to live my life. I am going to be proud that I am the person I am.

I am outspoken, and some people don’t like that. They get upset because I mention being bisexual. They get upset because I mention being a Christian, and faith in God. They get upset because I’m fat, and I’m happy. I do my thing. I don’t need their approval. Maybe I might piss off the wrong person someday, but whatever is going to happen will happen.

I’m not giving in to pressure to be who I am not. I am not afraid. I have lived a good life. I hopefully have done more good than harm in my life. I hope I have left the world a better place. We can live in fear, or we can carry on and be happy. I’m fortunate that I can be happy, and I will be.

 

Standard

One thought on “Not giving in

Leave a Reply

