marriage

In sickness and in health

My husband is sick, and was kind enough to share it with me. I know we all get whiny when we’re sick, but he takes it to another level. I haven’t slept well in days, and I really don’t have the patience. Don’t get me wrong, I do what I can for him. I made him a big pot of chicken noodle soup at 1am for him because he wanted it. But I can’t physically make him better.

I’m not feeling well either. I kept waking up, coughing. We both got some cold medicine today. I had to get the high blood pressure stuff. I’m hope I feel better by tomorrow. I know I’m taking the night time stuff tonight. I have to sleep.

It’s bad enough when one of us is sick, when both of us are, tempers seem to flare. He wants to be babied, and I want to be left alone. Not fun.

Marriage is about give and take. Sometimes both people are strong. Sometimes one is strong, and is the other’s support. Sometimes both are weak, and take turn propping the other one up. It sucks when both people are sick, but you just deal with it, and move on.

 

 

Standard

5 thoughts on “In sickness and in health

Leave a Reply

