Uncategorized

Still can’t tell her

I called my mom today to thank her for the gift cards she sent for our anniversary. (22 years on the 18th) For some reason, I always want to tell her that I’m bisexual. Especially now, since my nephew told me that he’s gay.

I want to tell her, but I can’t. What real purpose would it serve? She’s old, and the news would probably not be accepted by her. But I want to tell her to make it easier for nephew if he ever chooses to tell her.

I’m torn. It really isn’t anyone’s business except for me and my husband. He knows. He’s dealing with it. He even agreed to let me date women if I found one.

I’m not in a relationship with a woman. I did date one a few times over the summer, but that went nowhere. I suppose it might be easier to tell my mom if I was single. But I am married, and she would not accept the idea of me dating while married.

Ugh. What is the point of telling her? I don’t know. I don’t have the courage to do it.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Still can’t tell her

  1. My mom is 80 and if she didn’t know, I wouldn’t tell her. Why upset her? As much as I love and respect my mom, I’m still 60 years old and long past having to explain myself to her about something that isn’t any of her business. This is one of those silence is golden moments.

    But my mom has known for years now. She didn’t freak out, didn’t disapprove, just said, “I hope you know what you’re doing…” and my response was, “I most certainly do…”

    Like

Leave a Reply

