Uncategorized

Age is just a number

I was talking to someone today, I’ll just call him O. Anyway, he was telling me about this young woman he met over the weekend. She’s about ten years younger, and he made a point to say that he doesn’t date younger women. I said that some people are born with old souls. Age is just a number after all.

When I first discovered that I had developed feelings for J, I freaked out. He is 18 years younger than I am. I was in college, getting dumped by my first boyfriend when he was being born. Age makes no difference when it comes to emotions. I loved him for who he was.

Now, if we had attempted to have a real life relationship, it would have caused problems. I’m middle aged, and he’s in his late 20s. Having kids, and plenty of sex is important to him. I couldn’t have provided either. But on an emotional level, the age difference didn’t matter.

I was born with an old soul. I was 25 when I met my husband, but I was more mature than most people my age. I always was. I was always more serious than other people. My husband is ten years older than I am. Mentally and emotionally, it makes no difference at all. But after 22 years of marriage, the physical effects do matter.

Some people you just click with. Superficial things like age aren’t all that important. Yes, I will forever wonder how I fell for someone so much younger, but I fell for his personality.

Life is so strange. There is no point in getting hung up on details that can’t be changed. Why let a number ruin what could possibly be a good thing? To be honest, maturity counts more than anything. Some 16 year olds are more mature than some 36 year olds. Do your thing, and go with your gut. If it feels right, then it probably is.

Standard

One thought on “Age is just a number

  1. People say that age is nothing but a number and, therefore, shouldn’t matter… except when developing common points of reference between each other. A 4-5 year difference might not make a lot of difference in this, but 10+ years, well, putting all those common points together can get interesting. It can be done but I’ve found that many people have difficulties even in some thing as simple as taste in music or, say, coming from the same town but talking about the way it was before the younger person was even conceived.

    Seems to be no big deal, but it could be and it could be disastrous. Love is timeless… but people aren’t. Some people are just more mature, more in touch with themselves to make commonality easier – those old souls you mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

