Uncategorized

Reach out

Tonight on Twitter, I saw some tweets from a young woman who was upset. I told her I was there if she needed to talk. And she really did need to talk. She has had to deal with some really bad things. I told her she’s a survivor, and she just needed to concentrate on just breathing.

I called her, and we talked for about an hour. She really is a survivor. I would have been broken by the events in her life. At the end of the call, she said she felt better. That it helped her to feel like someone listened.

I’m going to make this about me now. Just yesterday, I told David that maybe the one thing that I’m good for is listening to people. Maybe that is my purpose in life. I’ve had at least two people tell me that talking to me is like therapy.

All day today, I’ve felt cranky, and out of sorts. I’ve been depressed. When I saw her tweets, I didn’t really want to respond, but something told me that I needed to. And for her sake, I’m glad I did. She told me that I probably saved her life tonight.

You never know what will happen when you reach out. It something tells you to do it, please do. You can save a life just by listening to someone. If you feel that low, reach out to someone.

I’m not a therapist. I’m not trained in anything. But I’m a human, and sometimes people just need to talk. Sometimes they need to be told that they’re strong enough to go onlk k,m. Sometimes they need to hear that the person who did them harm is a piece of crap. Or that the they didn’t deserve the shitty hand they were dealt in life.

Sometimes we just need someone to listen to us. Someone to tell us there is hope. To tell us that life won’t always suck. Be that person for someone.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Reach out

  1. bisexualloveadvice says:

    I’ve kind of saved a friends life before over the phone…. from thousands of miles away, sometimes when you think you can’t be there, or you’re not doing enough, sometimes just listening is ENOUGH. She called me a few days later telling me that had I not talked to her that day she might of ended her life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

