Uncategorized

Secrets, lies and half truths

For most of my life, I’ve tried to live be the “Do no harm, but take no shit” motto. I’m an honest person, and I tend to believe most people are honest. But they aren’t. People use you to get what they want. They lie to get what they want. I am not like that. I do believe in treating others how I want to be treated. But some people think lying is perfectly fine for them.

I don’t understand deceitful people. Does it make them feel better about themselves to make someone else a fool? Do they enjoy causing pain? I don’t get it.

I do believe in karma though. What goes around, comes around. It will eventually bite them in the ass. I’ve seen it happen. And yes, I laughed when I witnessed it.

People build entire relationships on lies, lies of omission, and half truths. I’ve made mistakes, I’ve hidden things, but I didn’t lie. My husband knows what my faults are. I’m trying to not repeat my mistakes. But I am honest. There isn’t anything someone can hold against me, because he already knows what my weaknesses are. How many people can say the same thing?

I’ve never physically cheated on my husband, but I’ve done things that are considered cheating. We faced them, dealt with it, and moved on. The thing about secrets, is that they eventually come to light. They don’t stay hidden forever. At least I faced mine. They won’t reappear down the road to haunt me.

I lose respect for people when they lie to me. I’d rather be told the truth, whether or not it’s painful. But some people just aren’t capable of dealing with their own faults. You call them out on it, and they try to put the blame on you somehow. That shows a lack of maturity.

I am what you see. I am honest. If you ask me a question, be prepared for the answer. I don’t see the purpose in lying. If you can’t handle the truth, then don’t ask for it. I won’t pretend to be something I’m not in order to please someone else. That is not me.

Do you know what the best part of that is? If you tell no lies, there is nothing you have to remember. My story doesn’t change. I feel sorry for the partners of liars, they really have no idea what they’re getting themselves into. With me, what you see is what you get. Like it, or leave it, I will remain me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

