Uncategorized

August

I lost my virginity 25 years ago today. I mentioned that to my husband, and he couldn’t believe that I remembered the exact day. I remember it because I was 23 years old, and it had an impact on my life. It set events into motion that made me decide to move from Miami to Delaware.

I don’t like the month of August. It always seems like bad things happen in this month. I wouldn’t call having sex for the first time a bad thing, but it was a before/after kind of event in my life. I chose to wait to have sex. I had offers from the time I was 8 years old. It just never felt right. I’m not sure what made it right that night.

23 years ago tomorrow (the 24th) Hurricane Andrew hit south Dade county where I was living with my parents at the time. Andrew was a category 5 hurricane. It trashed the neighborhood I grew up in. It devastated Homestead Air Force Base where my sister was living. It was a traumatic event in my life. Nothing was the same after that storm.

On August 30, 2001, my dad died. The same week, my uncle (dad’s younger brother) also died. A woman who was like my grandmother also died that week.

This month, my dog, Shorty, died on the second. That upset me, but it was worse for my husband, because he was David’s dog.

I lost my virginity for a second time this month. I had sexual contact with a woman for the first time. That wasn’t bad, or traumatic, but it was certainly a life changing event.

I guess August isn’t all bad. I got engaged in August of 1993. That wasn’t typical either. I got asked over the phone. I sort of wish I could skip the month of August, but like everything else, you take the bad with the good.

Standard

Leave a Reply

