Uncategorized

What’s in a name?

“What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet

Romeo and Juliet, by William Shakespeare

What is it with names? I hate being called pet names by most people. There are few people I allow to call me those. I am not one to have nick names either, they don’t come easily for me.

In my blog, I tend to use initials. But that becomes complicated when you have more than one person with the same initial.

I have been on two dates with a woman. The last one was very interesting. We may go out again on Monday, depending on her plans. I need a name for her, one that I can use to refer to her, but one that does not identify her. I won’t call her anything like sweetie or babe. Those things are for my husband only.

She’s not my girlfriend, so I can’t refer to her as such. So what do I call her? I came up with one. I’m going to call her Misty. Something (mist) that is visible, but not able to be held. It seems like an odd choice, but it’s fitting. She doesn’t want a “relationship” with a married woman, but I think a friends with benefits situation might work. At least I hope it does.

I wanted someone to hang out with, she has been that. But on Monday, things got intense. I’m not sure where things will go from there. She might be willing to hang out again on Monday.

She gave me my first sexual experience with a woman. I know she got off on it. I’m hoping she will be willing to let me explore more. I will be ok if that isn’t her choice, and wants to just remain friends. And I’d be happy if she’s willing to go for more.

But to me, she is now Misty. That’s my name for her. Misty to me makes me think of mystery, things kept hidden and barely glimpsed. Maybe that is all that I will get, or maybe I get to discover the mystery. I don’t know.

Just a few months ago, I assumed that I wouldn’t get the chance to do anything. But I answered an ad on Craigslist, because I liked her attitude.

I tend to get hung up on labels. So instead of thinking in terms of “girlfriend” or “friends with benefits”, she will be my Misty. There is no need to put everything in a neat little box. Frankly, I’d be happy with an occasional outing, or a booty call.

I’m not selling myself short, because I have an awesome relationship with my husband of 21 years. But he just isn’t a woman, and can’t give me everything I crave. I don’t want a full time girlfriend. I don’t want to have to pretend I’m in love when I’m not. I’m not a false person. So, a FWB thing works for me.

I’m not going to label her, because she’s a free spirit. She doesn’t belong to me. She may not even want to see me again. But I need a name for her, so Misty she shall be.

Standard

Leave a Reply

