Uncategorized

Take chances

Take a chance.

Do the one thing that terrifies you.

Travel alone.

Call someone you haven’t spoken to in a while, and just say hi.

Ask someone out.

Tell someone you love them.

Life is meant to be lived.

You are just existing if you never leave your comfort zone.

Try something new.

Give a compliment.

Go to a restaurant by yourself, and enjoy your own company.

Ask a co-worker to hang out.

Enter a contest.

Buy a lottery ticket.

Take the back roads to work.

Try new music.

Leave a dead end job, or relationship.

Dare to be happy.

Learn to laugh.

Be childlike in your discoveries.

Plant a garden.

Volunteer at an animal shelter.

Join Big Brothers/Big Sisters.

Start a journal.

Take pictures of anything but yourself.

Write a fan letter.

Foster a shelter animal.

Educate yourself, and vote.

Visit the local tourist attractions.

It’s amazing to think how your entire life can change from doing just one of those things. After talking/flirting with David for months, I asked him out on a crazy impulse one night at work. That was over 22 years ago. We’re still going strong in spite of a difficult last couple of years.

I started a journal in college. That was almost 30 years ago. I’m on my seventh actual book. It’s amazing to reread some of the things I wrote when I was so much younger. Writing helps me figure out the crazy emotions floating around in my head.

In September of 2013, I said I love you to the second man I fell in love with. Even though I was (and still am) in love with my husband. I knew we never had a chance to be together, and I knew it was going to cause pain. But at the same time, it just felt like the right thing to do. I do believe it was meant to happen, and that it was destiny.

I have social anxiety, and phobias out the ying yang. But in December of 2013, I did something I never thought I would do again. I went to a Miami Dolphins football game. And it was one in the enemy territory of the NY Jets. I have a phobia about crowds, but I managed to go and have fun. I actually had a breakdown inside the stadium. I cried in the concourse area. But after a short bout of crying, I calmed down. I took the chance, found my seat, and enjoyed myself immensely.

Join something new. I never imagined that joining a social media site like Twitter could change my life, but it did. I fell in love online. I have talked to Miami Dolphins fans all over the world. I’ve interacted with celebrities. I’ve even been followed by a few of them. (That still blows my mind. Ruth Buzzi & Gabriel Iglesias follow me on Twitter)

Try something new. Do something different. It may turn out great, or it may not. But you will never know unless you do it. Oh, and if you like someone, TELL THEM! For heaven’s sake, don’t look back on your life, and have it filled with “what ifs” It’s better to know, than to always wonder what might have been.

Standard

Leave a Reply

