Uncategorized

Say You, Say Me

I was listening to Lionel Richie’s, Say You, Say Me on my Itunes. It brought back such strong memories of being in college, and feeling so alone when I heard it.

Then, my second thought was that this song was released around the time that J was being born. Yes, that’s right. I was 18, and in college when the second guy I fell in love with was born.

I was getting dumped by my first boyfriend right before Valentine’s Day. (With a note, no less.) I was getting dumped, and the second man I loved was coming into the world. Who knew that 27 years later, he would shake up my entire world?

We are just friends again, but nothing will change the fact that he impacted my life. He literally shook the foundations of everything I believed in about myself.

Life is a series of strange steps. Things don’t always make sense. It’s just bizarre to equate an old love song with someone who was born then.

It’s almost 30 years later now. I have been in love with my husband for 22 of those years. I have loved J for almost 2 years. I don’t think that I can ever really explain what happened, or how it effected me. But that doesn’t matter. It had to happen. It had to end.

Anyway, when I hear the song, I cycle through emotions. I feel the loneliness I felt being alone in college. I feel that the gratitude that I have my soul mate. And I feel the oddness of the fact that I also fell in love with someone so much younger. Things happen the way they are supposed. Our lives are like a “Choose Your Own Adventure” book. And sometimes you just have to accept the weirdness, and embrace the changes that it brings.

Standard

Leave a Reply

