Uncategorized

Torn between two lovers

There are times when a woman has to say what’s on her mind
Even though she knows how much it’s gonna hurt
Before I say another word, let me tell you “I love you”
Let me hold you close, and say these words as gently as I can
“There’s been another man that I’ve needed and I’ve loved,
But that doesn’t mean I love you less,
And he knows he can’t possess me, and he knows he never will,
There’s just this empty place inside of me that only he can fill”

(chorus)
Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving both of you is breaking all the rules
Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving you both is breaking all the rules

You mustn’t think you failed me just because there’s someone else
You were the first real love I ever had,
And all the things I ever said
I swear they still are true
For no one else can have the part of me I gave to you

Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving both of you is breaking all the rules
Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving you both is breaking all the rules

Couldn’t really blame you if you turned and walked away
But with everything I feel inside, I’m asking you to stay

Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving both of you is breaking all the rules
Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving you both is breaking all the rules

Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving both of you is breaking all the rules
Torn between two lovers, feeling like a fool
Loving you both is breaking all the rules

************************************************************************************

I never really understood this song before today. It’s funny how life experiences change the way you view things. In my younger days, I couldn’t comprehend how you could love two people at once. But, now I do. Although, I was never lovers with the second one.

It does feel foolish to love someone you can’t be with. Someone you shouldn’t be with it. But it doesn’t change the fact that I do love both of them.

My husband is my first love, he is the love of my life. Maybe because he loved me so well, that I had more love to give. I don’t know. I still don’t know how it happened. But it did happen.

I do have to say that I’m not really torn. I never wanted to leave my husband. I would be lost without him. But my heart holds love for two very different men. I’m blessed to have that love. It does break the rules, but I was never conventional anyway. I have the love of my soul mate, and that’s an awesome thing. I also love my friend, and that’s a great thing as well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

