Uncategorized

The Rainbow Connection

I first saw The Muppet Movie in 1979. I had just turned 12 years old. I always loved the song, the Rainbow Connection. My first car had an 8 track player, and I had a tape of the soundtrack. I listened to it a lot.

In the song it mentions a young sailor, my husband was in the navy at that time. I’m bisexual, so the rainbow reference is fitting. In college, the sheets I got had rainbows on them. I even had a stuffed rainbow pillow.

Rainbows mean hope to me. It means something beautiful after a storm. It reminds me of pleasant childhood memories of playing in the puddles after a storm. It reminds me of being on Homestead Air Force Base, and seeing a rainbow literally touching the tail of jet.

Rainbows now are closely connected to the LGBT community. And that’s a good thing. It’s a positive in the face of so many negative things. I used to think that something pure was being hijacked, but my feelings have changed. I quit listening to “society”. There is nothing wrong with being gay/bi/lesbian/transsexual. It’s how God made us. Sometimes we just need to be told to hold our heads up, and be proud of who we are.

Standard

Leave a Reply

