Uncategorized

Call the Midwife (the show, not for real)

There is a good BBS show called Call the Midwife. It’s pure masochism for me to watch it though. It always makes me cry. I couldn’t get pregnant. I will never know what it’s like to feel a baby growing inside me, or to be a mother.

Saying that it’s God’s will, and just not meant to be doesn’t help. It hurts. It’s especially painful since most of my family is overly fertile. I’m the youngest of six kids. I have 16 nieces and nephews.

I was talking to my sister in law once about not being able to have kids. She responds with the fact that she could never have a daughter. She had five boys already! I wanted to slap her.

Back to the show, Call the Midwife is set in the East end of London (the slums) in the early 1960s. Lots of poverty, and ignorance in that era. Watching the antiquated methods of medicine back then, it’s amazing so many people survived.

The writing is good, and it’s well acted. It’s amazing how well they can tell a story in 60 minutes. Not just maternity stories, but the nurses’ and nuns’ stories as well. (Side note: until this show, I did not know the Anglican church had nuns)

Sometimes while watching the painful deliveries, I’m kind of glad that I didn’t have to experience that. But at the time, as a woman, I wish I had been able to.

Call the Midwife is an excellent show, even if I do break down and cry when I watch it. Give it a try sometime, it’s time well spent. If for no other reason, the appreciate the modern medicine we have now.

Standard

Leave a Reply

