Uncategorized

It gets a little easier each time

Ok, so I had a rather traumatic experience tonight telling my sister that I was bisexual. She told me it was the devil, and that I needed to “get right”. I just told my oldest nephew that I was bisexual, and his response was, “Who cares what they think? I love you just the same.” It made me cry.

God, I really needed that. It’s funny how I’m crying more over being told I was still loved than over being told it was the devil in me. Wow. what a roller coaster of emotions. What a relief to not be condemned again. It’s funny how the ones that claim to be so “Christian” act the least Christ like.

I still have a long way to go dealing with this. So many things I don’t have a clue about. So far, I’ve been told it’s the devil, I’ve been completely accepted by some friends, my husband said he thought it was a phase, another person told me I wasn’t bi until I’ve had sex with a woman, and now my nephew saying he loved me just the same.

I’m ok with me as a bisexual, it is what I am. But I have so many other things going on in my life as well. I need to process this. Sometimes I think I’m ok, then I realize that I’m not. At least, not yet. Baby steps.

Standard

7 thoughts on “It gets a little easier each time

  1. Hi there! I noticed you recently followed my blog. Thank you so much. But I recently moved my blog over to a new website. You can see it at http://oshitbritt.com. If you’d still like to follow me, you can do it over there! Thanks again πŸ™‚
    As for this blog post, keep your chin up. A lot of people go through what you’re going through and that’s because we live in a closed-minded, hateful world. Just remember it’s not you who’s wrong. It’s anybody who tried to tell you how to live or judges you. Christians believe only God judges. They also believe to love everyone how you’d love yourself. If people aren’t living by that, they aren’t Christians.

    Like

  2. You are okay, no matter what your sister said. I know that as bisexuals, we can face a moment of crisis, where our sexuality clashes with our religious beliefs but as long as your faith in God is strong, no one can question your relationship with Him.

    No one. And, as Brittany says, if they are throwing stones at you, they’re not the Christians they think they are. You just nod, take what they had to say and file it away, and your life goes on as usual.

    Coming out can be painful and traumatic; there’s no easy way to do it nor is it always an easy pill to swallow when you face a person’s reaction. What you can do is stay true to yourself because that truth is the most important one. You’ll see; we’ve all been there and, just as important, you are not alone – I got your back if you need extra support, okay?

    Like

    • Thank you. Your support means alot to me. I keep crying today. It hurts to be to told it’s the devil in me when I’m just the way God made me. I knew my sister was narrow minded and what her beliefs are. I expecting something negative. But it still hurts.

      Like

      • I know; do not despair. You did what you felt had to be done and it’s done and over with. Dry your eyes; no more tears; take comfort in knowing that you made the right decision for yourself and that it’s not your fault your sister reacted this way. Yes, you expected something and you can take comfort in knowing that you were right in this expectation.

        What matters is for you to keep being okay with yourself despite any opposition. You know the devil has nothing to do with the way you are so don’t pay any attention to this lie and don’t give in to the fears of others.

        How can I help you through this?

        Like

      • I would probably not be so weepy if it wasn’t for the fact it seems like my entire life is imploding at the moment. So many things keep piling up. I just have to keep faith. God has keep me around for some reason, so I have to just keep going. It really does help to know there are other people out there dealing with similar issues. Being alone is the worst feeling ever.

        Like

      • Yeah, when it rains, it pours – a really sucky feeling and situation to be in. As I said, you’re not alone and you don’t have to deal with your feelings by yourself – I’m here to lend whatever support I can because us bisexuals have to stick together!

        Instead of trying to deal with multiple things, take them one at a time and arrange them into the most efficient order you can. Take a deep breath… and deal with the things you can deal with and leave those things you can’t do anything about for another time.

        Keep your faith intact; believe in Him and believe in yourself.

        Like

Leave a Reply

